

Brion O'Connor Director of Public Relations Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Phone: (781) 245-2122 boconnor@HockeyEastOnline.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 15, 2007

## AWARDS SHOWCASE LEAGUE'S DEPTH Third time the charm as BU's Curry gets Player of the Year

The top-to-bottom talent that Hockey East is known for was on display during the league's annual banquet, as players and coaches from seven different programs won major awards. Boston University senior John Curry was arguably the biggest winner on the night, as he swept the RBK Player of the Year, Goaltending and Itech "Three Star" awards.

Curry outdistanced Boston College's Brian Boyle, the league's Scoring Champion (37 points on 13 goals and 24 assists), to take Player of the Year honors, while his 1.85 goals against average ensured him the title of Goaltending Champion. Boston College also snapped up the Best Defensive Forward award, thanks to senior Joe Rooney.

Curry's BU teammate Sean Sullivan joined his goaltender in the winner's circle as the unanimous winner of the Old-Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman award. Maine's phenomenal freshman Teddy Purcell narrowly edged Northeastern's stalwart freshman goaltender, Brad Thiessen, for Superskills Rookie of the Year honors. Maine's Mike Lundin finished his stellar run in Orono by winning the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award, while Massachusetts took the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award.

Although top-seeded New Hampshire didn't win any individual accolades, it's a safe bet that every member of the team takes a measure of pride in seeing the Wildcats' coach, Richard Umile, win the CCM Bob Kullen Coach of the Year award.

RBK / CCM Player of the Year John Curry, Boston University (Sr. G; Shorewood, MN) Runner-up: Brian Boyle, Boston College



CCM Bob Kullen Coach of the Year Richard Umile, New Hampshire Runner-up: Donald "Toot" Cahoon, Massachusetts



Hockey East Scoring Champion

Brian Boyle, Boston College (37 points) (Sr. F; Hingham, MA) Runners-up: Trevor Smith, New Hampshire (32 pts) Josh Soares, Maine (32 pts)

> Best Defensive Forward Joe Rooney, Boston College *(Sr. F; Canton, MA)* Runner-up: Bryan Esner, Northeastern

> Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award

Mike Lundin, Maine (Sr. D; Apple Valley, MN) Runner-up: Ryan Gunderson, Vermont

Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman Sean Sullivan, Boston University \* (Sr. D; Braintree, MA)



Superskills Hockey Rookie of the Year Teddy Purcell, Maine (Fr. F; St. John's NF)

Runner-up: Brad Thiessen, Northeastern

ITECH Goaltending Champion John Curry, Boston University (1.85 GAA) *(Sr.; Shorewood, MN)* Runner-up: Joe Fallon, Vermont (1.90 GAA)



ITECH "Three Stars" Award John Curry, Boston University (Sr. G; Shorewood, MN) Runners-up: Cory Schneider, Boston College Jon Quick, Massachusetts



Turfer Athletic Award Ryan Sullivan, Merrimack (Sr. D; Toronto, ON)



Hannaford Hockey East Kids' Club "Fan Favorite" Award Mike Morris, Northeastern (Sr. F; Braintree, MA)

Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award University of Massachusetts Runner-up: UMass Lowell

\* Unanimous selction