

PRESS RELEASE

Noah Smith Director of Media Relations Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Phone: (781) 245-2122

nsmith@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: March 17, 2005

EAVES NAMED CCM PLAYER OF THE YEAR Jack Parker wins fourth Bob Kullen Award as top coach

Following in the skate marks of his older brother Ben, Patrick Eaves of Boston College has been named the 2004-05 CCM Hockey East Player of the Year. Eaves started the season off strong, putting on a four-game show during which he scored or assisted on 11 of BC's 16 goals. He got hot again in January, going on a nine-game point streak with seven goals and 10 assists. His offensive prowess helped Boston College to the regular season title for the third straight year.

Across town, coaching icon Jack Parker was steering Boston University towards an amazing recovery following an all-time worst eighth-place finish in Hockey East in 2003-04. The Terriers posted a 15-5-4 record in league play this year, nearly tripling their win total, and finished tied for second. For that, Parker's peers selected him as the CCM Bob Kullen Award winner as Hockey East Coach of the Year for the fourth time in his career.

At the head of a rookie class stocked with talented goaltenders, UMass Lowell's Peter Vetri shined above the rest, backstopping the River Hawks to a 14-game undefeated streak in midseason. He helped them to an outstanding 9-0-1 record in non-league play that put the team in contention for an at-large NCAA Tournament bid, and has been deservedly selected as the Superskills Hockey Rookie of the Year.

CCM Player of the Year

Patrick Eaves, Boston College (Jr. F; Faribault, MN) Runners-up: John Curry, So. G, Boston University Keni Gibson, Sr. G, Northeastern



CCM / Bob Kullen Coach of the Year

Jack Parker, Boston University
Runner-up: Blaise MacDonald, UMass Lowell

Hockey East Scoring Champion

Jason Guerriero, Northeastern (34 points)
(Sr. F; Manorville, NY)

ITECH Goaltending Champion

Matti Kaltiainen, BC (1.81 GAA) (Sr. G; Espoo, Finland) Runner-up: Cory Schneider, Fr., BC (1.83 GAA)



ITECH "Three Stars" Award

Patrick Eaves, Boston College (Jr. F; Faribault, MN) Ryan Shannon, Boston College (Sr. F; Darien, CT)

Superskills Hockey Rookie of the Year

Peter Vetri, UMass Lowell (Fr. G; Windham, NH)
Runner-up: Kevin Regan, G, New Hampshire



Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award

Jason Guerriero, Northeastern (Sr. F; Manorville, NY)
Runner-up: Ryan Shannon, Sr. F, Boston College

Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award

Northeastern University
Runner-up: University of New Hampshire

Best Defensive Forward

Preston Callander, New Hampshire (Sr. F; Regina, SK) Runners-up: Greg Moore, Jr., Maine David Van der Gulik, Jr., Boston University



Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman

Tim Judy, Northeastern University (Sr. D; Bowie, MD)
Runner-up: Andrew Alberts, Sr., BC