

www.HockeyEastOnline.com



Noah Smith Director of Media Relations Hockey East Association

Phone: (781) 245-2122 Fax: (781) 245-2492 nsmith@HockeyEastOnline.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 18, 2004

STEVE SAVIANO NAMED CCM PLAYER OF THE YEAR BC's Jerry York is unanimous selection as Coach of the Year

It only took him 10 seasons, 228 wins, three Hockey East regular season championships and three Hockey East tournament championships. At last, Boston College head coach Jerry York has received his just due: the Bob Kullen Award as CCM Hockey East Coach of the Year. A unanimous selection by his peers, York steered the Eagles to a 17-4-3 record in Hockey East play, good for first place. BC has been ranked as one of the top five teams in the nation all season long, and enjoyed a midseason run of 23-1-3 overall.

Though standing only 5-foot-7, UNH senior Steve Saviano (Reading, MA) was a huge presence on the scoresheet, with 26 goals and 21 assists through 39 games this season. He was the catalyst for UNH's intimidating offense and has been selected as the CCM Hockey East Player of the Year. Saviano has also been honored with the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award, which recognizes his gentlemanly play as much as his scoring talent.

The Superskills Hockey Rookie of the Year is Maine's Michel Léveillé (Levis, QC), who has totalled 32 assists through 37 games in his first season. That is the highest total for any Hockey East player this year.

CCM Player of the Year Steve Saviano, New Hampshire (Sr. F; Reading, MA) Runner-up: Tony Voce, Boston College



CCM / Bob Kullen Coach of the Year Jerry York, Boston College Runner-up: Tim Whitehead, Maine

Hockey East Scoring Champions

Ryan Shannon, Boston College (27 pts) (*Jr. F; Darien, CT*) Tony Voce, Boston College (27 pts) (*Sr. F; Philadelphia, PA*)

ITECH Goaltending Champion

Jim Howard, Maine (1.15 GAA) (So. G; Ogdensburg, NY) Runner-up: Matti Kaltiainen, BC (1.60 GAA) (Jr. G; Espoo, Finland)



ITECH "Three Stars" Award Keni Gibson, Northeastern (Jr. G; Stittsville, ON) Runner-up: Jim Howard, Maine Superskills Rookie of the Year

Michel Léveillé, Maine (So. F; Levis, QC) Runner-up: Jim Healey, Merrimack



Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award Steve Saviano, New Hampshire *(Sr. F; Reading, MA)* Runner-up: Ben Eaves, Boston College

Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award

Northeastern University Runner-up: University of New Hampshire

Best Defensive Forward

Todd Jackson, Maine (Sr. F; Cortland, NY) Runner-up: Ryan Shannon, Boston College



Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman Andrew Alberts, Boston College (*Jr. D; Eden Prairie, MN*) Prestin Ryan, Maine (*Sr. D; Arcola, SK*)