

AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASOCIATION

For immediate release: Wednesday, April 7, 2004

MEN'S DIVISION I ICE HOCKEY JOFA ALL-AMERICANS ANNOUNCED

Eleven players competing for an NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Championship in Boston this weekend have been honored as JOFA ALL-AMERICANS for 2003-04. NCAA semifinalists Boston College and Maine led all teams with four players each, while the other semifinalists, Minnesota Duluth and Denver, had two and one, respectively. Also with multiple honorees: Michigan State, Minnesota, and North Dakota, each with a pair.

Noteworthy among the selections:

- The only player who was previously honored was Brown University goaltender Yann Danis, a Second Team choice in 2001-2002 and a First Team choice this year.
- Four honorees hail from Europe: Bernd Brückler of Wisconsin and Thomas Vanek of Minnesota are both from Graz, Austria; Thomas Pöck of Massachusetts is from Klagenfurt, Austria; and Colin Shields of Maine is from Glasgow, Scotland.
- The team includes 12 seniors, seven juniors, five sophomores, and a lone freshman (defenseman A.J. Thelen of Michigan State.)
- While injuries prevented Boston College forward Ben Eaves from repeat recognition (First Team last year; Second Team in 2001-02), his brother Patrick earned Second Team honors. The standard for brother acts would be the five First Team selections of Harvard's Mark (three) and Scott (two) from 1981 to 1986 (none in 1984.)

The JOFA ALL-AMERICAN ICE HOCKEY TEAMS are sponsored by JOFA, an international leader in hockey equipment, and chosen by members of the AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION.

	First Team	
East		West
Yann Danis, SR, Brown*	Goalie	Bernd Brückler, JR, Wisconsin
(Saint Jerome, QC)		(Graz, Austria)
Andrew Alberts, JR, Boston College	Defense	Keith Ballard, JR, Minnesota
(Eden Prairie, MN)		(Baudette, MN)
Thomas Pöck, SR, Massachusetts	Defense	Ryan Caldwell, SR, Denver
(Klagenfurt, Austria)		(DeLoraine, MB)
Steve Saviano, SR, New Hampshire	Forward	Brandon Bochenski, JR, North Dakota
(Reading, MA)		(Blaine, MN)
Lee Stempniak, JR, Dartmouth	Forward	Junior Lessard, SR, Minnesota Duluth
(West Seneca, NY)		(St. Joseph deBeauce, QC)
Tony Voce, SR, Boston College	Forward	Zach Parise, SO, North Dakota
(Philadelphia, PA)		(Faribault, MN)

Second Team

East		West
Jim Howard, SO, Maine	Goalie	Al Montoya, SO, Michigan
(Ogdensburg, NY)		(Glenview, IL)
Prestin Ryan, SR, Maine	Defense	Beau Geisler, SR, Minnesota Duluth
(Arcola, SK)		(Coleraine, MN)
Stephen Wood, SR, Providence	Defense	A.J. Thelen, FR, Michigan State
(Sudbury, MA)		(Savage, MN)
Patrick Eaves, SO, Boston College	Forward	Derek Edwardson, SR, Miami
(Faribault, MN)		(Morton Gove, IL)
Todd Jackson, SR, Maine	Forward	Jim Slater, JR, Michigan State
(Cortland, NY)		(Detroit, MI)
Ryan Shannon, JR, Boston College	Forward	Thomas Vanek, SO, Minnesota
(Darien, CT)		(Graz, Austria)
Colin Shields, SR, Maine	Forward	
(Glasgow, Scotland)		

^{*} Second Team in 2001-02