

PRESS HOCKEY RELEASE

Noah Smith Director of Media Relations Hockey East Association

Phone: (781) 245-2122 Fax: (781) 245-2492 Cell: (617) 335-3709

nsmith@HockeyEastOnline.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: MARCH 13, 2003

AYERS, EAVES SHARE PLAYER OF THE YEAR Don "Toot" Cahoon credited for UMass turnaround

For the second time in four seasons, and for only the second time ever, two players share Hockey East's highest individual honor as KOHO Player of the Year. In 2000, BC's Mike Mottau and UNH's Ty Conklin split the award, and it is once again BC and UNH with honorees Ben Eaves and Mike Ayers, respectively. Eaves ran away with the league scoring title (42 points) while Ayers finished first in league save percentage (.926) and second in GAA (2.22).

UMass named its first-ever All-Star this season (Thomas Pöck) and also got its first nod for CCM / Bob Kullen Coach of the Year, which went to third-year skipper Don "Toot" Cahoon. Cahoon steered the 2002-03 Minutemen to a vastly improved record, which included wins over BC, BU and Maine, and now has them in the Hockey East semifinals for the first time.

Maine had three special award honorees. Jim Howard's outstanding freshman season made him a strong selection as Rookie of the Year, teammate Martin Kariya was equally appreciated as the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award winner, and fellow Black Bear Cliff Loya was named the Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman. Mark Mullen of BU was chosen as the Best Defensive Forward.

CCM / Bob Kullen Coach of the Year

Don Cahoon, Massachusetts Runners-up: Richard Umile, New Hampshire



KOHO Players of the Year

Mike Ayers, New Hampshire (Jr. G; Hingham, MA) Ben Eaves, Boston College (Jr. F; Faribault, MN)



Rookie of the Year

Jim Howard, Maine (Fr. G; Ogdensburg, NY) Runner-up: Bryan Schmidt, Merrimack

Hockey East Scoring Champion

Ben Eaves, Boston College (42 pts) (Jr. F; Faribault, MN) Runner-up: Tony Voce, Boston College (32 pts)

ITECH Goaltending Champion

Matti Kaltiainen, Boston College (2.20 GAA) (So. G; Espoo, Finland) Runner-up: Mike Ayers, New Hampshire (2.22 GAA)



ITECH "Three Stars" Award

Ben Eaves, Boston College (Jr. F; Faribault, MN) Joe Exter, Merrimack College (Sr. G; Cranston, RI)

Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award

Martin Kariya, Maine (Sr. F; North Vancouver, BC) Runner-up: Jon DiSalvatore, Providence

Best Defensive Forward

Mark Mullen, Boston University (Jr. F; Dorchester, MA) Runner-up: Ed McGrane, UMass Lowell

Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman

Cliff Loya, Maine (Sr. D; Pittsburgh, PA) Runner-up: Freddy Meyer, Boston University