





For Immediate Release March 16, 2016

Contact: Kevin Kurtt (952-944-0023, editor@letsplayhockey.com, www.letsplayhockey.com)

Finalists announced for 2016 Mike Richter Award

Third annual award to be presented at 2016 NCAA Men's Frozen Four in Tampa

EDEN PRAIRIE, MINN. — *Let's Play Hockey* and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the five finalists for the 2016 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men's hockey. The third annual award will be presented by Mike Richter at the 2016 NCAA Men's Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla.

In alphabetical order, following are the finalists for the 2016 Mike Richter Award:

<u>Name</u>	<u>School</u>	<u>Year</u>	<u>MIN</u>	W-L-T	GAA	<u>SV%</u>	SO	<u>svs</u>
Kevin Boyle	UMass Lowell	Senior	2071:44	22-8-5	1.80	.934	7	874
Thatcher Demko	Boston College	Junior	2123:55	25-6-4	1.78	.938	10	953
Cam Johnson	North Dakota	Sophomore	1556:46	20-3-1	1.58	.938	5	619
Charlie Lindgren	St. Cloud State	Junior	2162:54	28-8-1	2.08	.926	5	944
Alex Lvon	Yale	Junior	1844:07	19-7-4	1.59	.938	5	738

The finalists combine for a 1.77 goals-against average, a .935 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.0.

Kevin Boyle • University of Massachusetts Lowell • Senior

The Hockey East Goaltending Champion, Kevin Boyle ranks second in the nation with seven shutouts, fourth in goals-against average (1.80), sixth in save percentage (.934) and wins (22), and tied for 10th in winning percentage (.700). A native of Manalapan, N.J., Boyle has started all but one of UMass Lowell's games, allowing two or fewer goals in 26 of those contests (including the last six games). He owns a 22-8-5 overall record and has posted a .930 or better save percentage in 20 games this season. His 22 wins are a careerhigh and his seven shutouts this season broke Connor Hellebuyck (2014 Mike Richter Award winner) and Cam McCormick's single-season school record. Boyle has 10 games with 30 or more saves, including a pair of career-high 38-save efforts during the season. He has been named the Hockey East Defensive Player of the Week a league-high four times this season. Boyle is a business major at UMass Lowell.

Thatcher Demko • Boston College • Junior

Thatcher Demko backstopped the fifth-ranked Eagles to a share of the Hockey East regular season championship while leading the conference in goals-against average (1.78), save percentage (.938), shutouts (10) and wins (25, tied with Providence's Nick Ellis). A native of San Diego, he owns a 25-6-4 overall record and ranks first in the nation in shutouts, tied for first in save percentage, third in goals-against average, tied for third in wins and fourth in winning percentage (.771). The junior netminder has played in all but two games this season for the Eagles, allowing two goals or less 20 times. Demko has stopped 30 or more shots in 14 games this season, and has posted a .930 or better save percentage in 17 games this season. A second-round pick (36th overall) of the Vancouver Canucks in the 2014 NHL Entry Draft, Demko is an applied psychology major at Boston College.

Cam Johnson • University of North Dakota • Sophomore

Cam Johnson is a member of the NCHC All-Conference Second Team and a finalist for the NCHC Goaltender of the Year Award. A native of Troy, Mich., Johnson owns a 20-3-1 record and ranks first in the nation in goals-against average (1.58) and winning percentage (.854), tied for first in save percentage (.938), seventh in wins and tied for sixth in shutouts (5). In backstopping top-ranked North Dakota to the NCHC regular season title, Johnson posted six games with 30 or more saves, including a career-high 40-save effort in

a 3-0 win at Minnesota Duluth on Dec. 11. Johnson has posted a .930 or better save percentage in 19 games this season and is 4-1-3 in one-goal games on the year. The backup last season to 2015 Mike Richter Award winner Zane McIntyre, Johnson is a preentrepreneurship major at UND.

Charlie Lindgren • St. Cloud State University • Junior

Charlie Lindgren backstopped the fourth-ranked Huskies to a second-place finish in the NCHC while leading the conference in wins (28) and earning First Team All-NCHC honors. A native of Lakeville, Minn., he owns a 28-8-1 overall record and ranks first in the nation in wins, fifth in winning percentage (.770), tied for sixth in shutouts (5) 15th in save percentage (.926) and 18th in goals-against average (2.08). The junior netminder has played in all but one game this season for the Huskies, allowing two goals or less 25 times. He has stopped 30 or more shots in eight games this season, including a 38-save effort in a 1-1 tie at Minnesota Duluth on Jan. 16. Lindgren has posted a .930 or better save percentage in 17 games this season and is 4-3-1 in one-goal games on the year. A finalist for the NCHC Goaltender of the Year Award, Lindgren is a marketing major at St. Cloud State.

Alex Lyon • Yale University • Junior

A Mike Richter Award finalist for the second straight season, Alex Lyon leads the ECAC in goals-against average (1.59) and save percentage (.938), and backstopped the 10th-ranked Bulldogs to a second-place finish in the ECAC. A native of Baudette, Minn., Lyon owns a 19-7-4 overall record with five shutouts and ranks tied for first in the nation in save percentage, second in goals-against average, tied for sixth in shutouts, tied for eighth in wins and tied for 10th in winning percentage (.700). The junior netminder posted a .930 or better save percentage in 20 games and had seven games with 30 or more saves. The three-time ECAC Goalie of the Week and two-time ECAC Goalie of the Month started all but one game this season and allowed two goals or less 24 times. Lyon's career goals-against average (1.86), save percentage (.931), wins (50) and shutouts (15) rank first in program history. A highly-coveted NHL free agent, Lyon is a political science major at Yale.

The 2016 Mike Richter Award will be presented at ESPN's #CawlidgeHawkey event at Champions Sports Bar in Tampa, Fla., on Friday, April 8 (7 p.m. ET), featuring John Buccigross and Barry Melrose. Fans are encouraged to attend the event, which will feature a Q&A, giveaways, autographs and lots of college hockey talk. More details to be announced next week.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men's hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

- Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
- Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
- Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
- Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
- Consideration should be given to the candidate's activities in the community

Past winners: 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

About Let's Play Hockey: In its 44th season and based in the Twin Cities, Let's Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation. Let's Play Hockey is published 29 times a year – weekly during the hockey season and monthly during the offseason. **About the Herb Brooks Foundation:** The Herb Brooks Foundation is dedicated to growing the game of hockey and giving the game back to the kids. Founded in 2003 by Dan Brooks and Kelly Brooks Paradise, Herb's family and friends created the foundation to preserve his legacy by continuing his life's work by growing the game by "making hockey fun for kids and letting them learn to love the game the way we did."

