





For Immediate Release Feb. 26, 2016

Contact: Kevin Kurtt (952-944-0023, editor@letsplayhockey.com, www.letsplayhockey.com)

Nominees announced for 2016 Mike Richter Award

Third annual award to be presented at 2016 NCAA Men's Frozen Four in Tampa

EDEN PRAIRIE, MINN. — *Let's Play Hockey* and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 26 nominees for the 2016 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men's hockey. The third annual award will be presented by Mike Richter at the 2016 NCAA Men's Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla. Following are the nominees for the 2016 Mike Richter Award:

<u>Name</u>	<u>School</u>	<u>Year</u>	MIN	<u>W-L-T</u>	GAA	SV%	<u>so</u>	<u>svs</u>	
Paul Berrafato	Holy Cross	Sophomore	1750	15-9-5	2.23	.917	2	716	
Kevin Boyle	UMass Lowell	Senior	1832	19-7-5	1.87	.932	6	778	
Thatcher Demko #!	Boston College	Junior	1947	22-4-4	1.75	.938	9	798	
Nick Ellis	Providence	Junior	1794	21-5-4	2.01	.930	3	798	
Michael Garteig #	Quinnipiac	Senior	1926	23-2-7	1.87	.925	7	737	
Mitch Gillam #	Cornell	Junior	1579	13-8-6	1.94	.933	6	710	
Kyle Hayton *#	St. Lawrence	Sophomore	1945	15-10-3	2.05	.935	3	829	
Cam Johnson	North Dakota	Sophomore	1942	15-3-1	1.54	.940	5	504	
Jason Kasdorf	Rensselaer	Senior	1501	10-10-4	2.16	.935	2	771	
Kasimir Kaskisuo	Minnesota Duluth	Sophomore	1731	11-13-5	2.01	.918	4	653	
Greg Lewis	Clarkson	Senior	1039	10-7-2	2.08	.922	1	424	
Charlie Lindgren #	St. Cloud State	Junior	1801	24-6-1	2.03	.929	5	799	
Alex Lyon *#	Yale	Senior	1589	18-4-4	1.51	.941	4	638	
Merrick Madsen	Harvard	Sophomore	1297	14-4-3	1.99	.930	4	571	
Olivier Mantha #	Alaska Anchorage	Sophomore	1597	10-14-3	2.89	.902	1	706	
Eamon McAdam	Penn State	Junior	965	11-4-1	2.43	.928	1	499	
Packy Munson	Vermont	Freshman	1015	8-8-1	2.31	.919	3	443	
Chris Nell	Bowling Green	Sophomore	1692	13-8-6	1.77	.934	3	712	
Rob Nichols #	Connecticut	Junior	1439	7-16-2	2.96	.909	2	707	
Cal Petersen #	Notre Dame	Sophomore	1928	18-7-7	2.12	.930	0	910	
Jamie Phillips *#	Michigan Tech	Senior	1771	17-7-5	2.00	.921	2	692	
Steve Racine	Michigan	Senior	1259	15-2-3	2.76	.916	1	635	
Ryan Ruck	Northeastern	Freshman	1636	12-10-4	2.20	.914	2	639	
Eric Schierhorn	Minnesota	Freshman	1762	16-14-0	2.69	.907	3	771	
Terry Shafer	Robert Morris	Senior	1321	14-8-2	2.41	.933	4	736	
Evan Weninger	Omaha	Freshman	988	13-5-0	2.31	.926	1	475	
* 2015 Mike Richter Award finalist		# 2015 Mike Rid	# 2015 Mike Richter Award nominee			! 2014 Mike Richter Award nominee			

The nominees combine for a 2.15 goals-against average, a .926 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.15.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men's hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. The five finalists for the 2016 Mike Richter Award will be announced on Wednesday, March 16.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

- Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
- Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
- Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
- Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
- Consideration should be given to the candidate's activities in the community

Past winners: 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

NOTES: There are 19 Americans, six Canadians and 1 Finn among the nominees • The 26 candidates represent 12 different U.S. states – California, Minnesota and New York lead with three each, Pennsylvania with two, and Alaska, Colorado, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, Texas and Wisconsin with one each • Five Canadian provinces are represented – Ontario with two, and British Columbia, Manitoba, Quebec and Saskatchewan with one each • Conference breakdown – ECAC 7, Hockey East 7, NCHC 4, Big Ten 3, WCHA 3, Atlantic Hockey 2 • The nominees include seven seniors, seven juniors, eight sophomores and four freshmen.

About Let's Play Hockey: In its 44th season and based in the Twin Cities, Let's Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation. Let's Play Hockey is published 29 times a year – weekly during the hockey season and monthly during the offseason. **About the Herb Brooks Foundation:** The Herb Brooks Foundation is dedicated to growing the game of hockey and giving the game back to the kids.

Founded in 2003 by Dan Brooks and Kelly Brooks Paradise, Herb's family and friends created the foundation to preserve his legacy by continuing his life's work by growing the game by "making hockey fun for kids and letting them learn to love the game the way we did."

