

PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smith | bsmith@hockeyeastonline.com | 339.227.2988 | @brismi22 591 North Avenue #2 | Wakefield, MA | 01880 | 781-245-2122

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: SEPTEMBER 21, 2015

Nancy Marrapese-Burrell Named Joe Concannon Award Winner Boston Globe Reporter Is 24th Recipient of Prestigious Award

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - **Nancy Marrapese-Burrell** has been named the recipient of the prestigious Joe Concannon Media Award, Hockey East Commissioner **Joe Bertagna** announced today from the league's annual media day at TD Garden. She becomes the third representative of the Globe staff to win the award, and the first since the late Joe Concannon was named the recipient in 1998.

"This is so fitting that Nancy is being honored in this way," said Bertagna. "She would be a perfect candidate for this award in any year, given the way she has covered college hockey over the years. But this year, as she leaves her beat, what a perfect send-off from those of us who have been the beneficiaries of her work. On a personal level, I will miss working with her and seeing her at our games."

Marrapese-Burrell covered hockey for The Boston Globe since 1987, just two years after the creation of the Hockey East Association. Hired by the prestigious Massachusetts paper in March of 1987, Marrapese-Burrell was the first female staff member of the Globe to be assigned the Boston Bruins beat, covering the pro team for over two decades from 1990-2006.

In 2006, Marrapese-Burrell took over the NCAA Division 1 men's college hockey beat, which lasted through the 2014-15 season. Over her 28-year career at the Globe, Marrapese-Burrell covered the Stanley Cup Final for several years, as well as a Super Bowl and the Boston Marathon.

Marrapese-Burrell covered the NCAA Frozen Four during a period of time that was dominated by New England schools, and Hockey East in particular, where she saw Boston College, Boston University and, most recently, Providence College capture national championships.

ABOUT THE JOE CONCANNON HOCKEY EAST MEDIA AWARD: The prestigious honor, named in 2001 in memory of long-time Boston Globe sportswriter Joe Concannon, is bestowed annually upon a member of the media who has demonstrated a superior body of work in covering and promoting the Hockey East Association over an extended period of time.

Hockey East Media Award History

<u>Year</u>	Recipient, Affiliation	<u>Year</u>	Recipient, Affiliation
1992	Larry Mahoney, Bangor Daily News	2004	Rob Rudnick, Huskies Radio
1993	Bob Whitelaw, New England Sports Network	2005	Eric Frede, NESN/Cod Rock Media
1994	Bob Monahan, Boston Globe	2006	Dan Hannigan, Maine Radio/Cod Rock Media
1995	John Connolly, Boston Herald	2007	Allen Lessels, New Hampshire Union Leader
1996	Charles Scoggins, Lowell Sun	2008	Mike Logan, Providence College Radio
1997	Bob Norton, New England Sports Network	2009	Bob Ellis, UMass-Lowell Radio
1998	Joe Concannon, Boston Globe	2010	Brock Hines, UMass Sports Network
1999	Dick Osborne, UNH Sports Network	2011	Mike Machnik, Merrimack Radio, CHN & USCHO
2000	Bill Doherty, Huskies Radio	2012	Jim Connelly, USCHO
2001	Dave Hendrickson, USCHO	2013	Dan Parkhurst, UNH Radio/TV & Merrimack Radio
2002	Roger Brown, Portsmouth Herald	2014	Pete Webster, UNH Wildcat Sports Radio Network
2003	Bernie Corbett, BU Radio	2015	Nancy Marrapese-Burrell, The Boston Globe

HEA























