



Brian Smith Director of Communications Hockey East Association

591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

bsmith@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, October 8, 2014

Record 54 Alumni Named to NHL Rosters on Opening Night 10 Hockey East Schools Represented at Sport's Highest Level

WAKEFIELD, Mass. – A record 54 alumni of Hockey East schools will start the 2014-2015 season on National Hockey League rosters, it was announced Tuesday afternoon. A full listing of players, schools and teams is below.

Boston College boasts the highest total, with 18 former Eagles earning an NHL roster spot, including 2014 Hobey Baker Award winner **Johnny Gaudreau**. Boston University is second and developed eight players tabbed to rosters. Maine and Vermont produced five players named to NHL clubs, UMass Lowell and Notre Dame send four former players, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire each send three and Northeastern and Providence claim two each.

Five players that skated in the 2013-14 Hockey East season were named to an NHL club in **Patrick Brown**, **Christian Folin**, Gaudreau, **Kevin Hayes** and **Trevor van Riemsdyk**. Hockey East alumni are featured on 26 of 30 NHL teams and 10 carry at least three Hockey East alumni: Buffalo, Carolina, Detroit, New Jersey, New York Rangers, Ottawa, Chicago, Nashville, St. Louis and San Jose.

Boston College (18) – Cam Atkinson (CBJ), Brian Boyle (TBL), Patrick Brown (CAR), Scott Clemmensen (NJD), Patrick Eaves (DAL), Benn Ferriero (STL), Johnny Gaudreau (CAL), Nathan Gerbe (CAR), Brian Gibbons (CBJ), Brian Gionta (BUF)^, Stephen Gionta (NJD), Jimmy Hayes (FLA), Kevin Hayes (NYR), Chris Kreider (NYR), Brooks Orpik (WSH), Cory Schneider (NJD), Rob Scuderi (PIT), Ben Smith (CHI)

Boston University (8) – Nick Bonino (ANA), Alex Chiasson (OTT), Charlie Coyle (MIN), Eric Gryba (OTT), Matt Nieto (SJS), Kevin Shattenkirk (STL), Brian Strait (NYI), Colin Wilson (NSH).

Maine (5) – Ben Bishop (TBL), Brian Flynn (BUF), Jimmy Howard (DET), Gustav Nyquist (DET), Teddy Purcell (EDM)

Massachusetts (3) – Justin Braun (SJS), Matt Irwin (SJS), Jonathan Ouick (LAK)

UMass Lowell (4) - Christian Folin (MIN), Ron Hainsey (CAR), Carter Hutton (NSH), Bobby Robbins (BOS)

New Hampshire (3) – James van Riemsdyk (TOR), Trevor van Riemsdyk (TOR), Daniel Winnik (TOR)

Northeastern (2) – Jamie Oleksiak (DAL), Joe Vitale (ARZ)

Notre Dame (4) – Ian Cole (STL)*, Erik Condra (OTT)*, Kyle Palmieri (ANA)*, Riley Sheahan (DET)*

Providence (2) – Mark Fayne (EDM), Colin McDonald (NYI)

Vermont (5) – Kevan Miller (BOS), Torrey Mitchell (BUF), Patrick Sharp (CHI)*, Viktor Stålberg (NSH), Martin St. Louis (NYR)*

- * Did not compete in Hockey East
- ^ Team captain in 2014-15

#HEA#