

NEW ENGLAND HOCKEY WRITERS ASSOCIATION

Jack Grinold • NEHW Secretary
Joe Bertagna • Hockey East Commissioner
Pete Souris • Asst. Hockey East Commissioner
Mark Majewski • Northeastern University

Northeastern University 360 Huntington Avenue Boston, Massachusetts 02115 (617) 373-2691, (617) 373-3152 (fax)

April 2, 2013

Contact: Mark Majewski • Jack Grinold (617) 373-36431

2012-13 NEW ENGLAND DIVISION I MEN'S HOCKEY ALL-STARS & AWARDS

BOSTON - The New England Hockey Writers Division I All-Star teams and awards have been finalized after tallying votes from all Division I coaches and respective media outlets throughout New England. This year's banquet will be held on Tuesday, April 16 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The banquet will start at 6 p.m. All awards and All-Star teams will be presented at the gala. All coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends are encouraged to attend Tuesday's banquet. Please contact Kristen Blake at (781) 245-2122 or by email at *intern@hockeyeastonline.com* for information on attending this event. Cost is \$40 per person.

Boston College sophomore Johnny Gaudreau earns both the Leonard Fowle Award for Most Valuable Player as well as the Herb Gallagher Award for Best Forward, after leading the nation with 1.46 points per game. Gaudreau, whose 21-30-51 scoring line gives him the highest points per games and most total points in Hockey East, led Boston College to a 22-12-4 record and NCAA Tournament berth this season. A top-10 finalist for the Hobey Baker award, Gaudreau also earned Hockey East's Athletic Republic Player of the Year and a unanimous First-Team All Star selection.

After helping to the lead the program to its first ever Frozen Four appearance this year, UMass Lowell junior Chad Ruhwedel takes home the Bob Monahan Award for Best Defenseman. Ruhwedel, who anchored a River Hawks squad that won its first Hockey East regular season and tournament championship, finished top-25 nationally in scoring among defenseman with a 7-16-23 scoring line, good for 0.57 points per game. He was selected as a Hockey East First-Team All Star after UML allowed just 2.00 goals per game, the lowest mark in the conference.

The Frank Jones Award for Best Defensive Forward goes to Providence College senior Tim Schaller, who helped lead the Friars to the Hockey East semifinals this year. Schaller finished third on the squad with 23 points, and led PC with 15 assists. His defensive play helped the Friars finish third in Hockey East with 2.37 goals allowed per game.

Schaller's teammate and goaltender Jon Gillies earns the George C. Carens Award for Rookie of the Year. Gillies turned in a freshman campaign that saw him finish ninth in the country in save percentage (.931) and 15th nationally with a 2.08 GAA. The frosh was the Hockey East Pro Ambitions Rookie of the Year and also earned Hockey East First-Team All Star laurels.

Another Hockey East player receives the Paul Hines Award as New England's Most Improved Player, with Boston University's Evan Rodrigues getting the nod. The sophomore finished tied for third on the Terriers with 34 points this season, after totaling just 12 during his freshman campaign. Posting a 14-20-34 line this year, Rodrigues scored 12 more goals and notched 10 more assists as a sophomore than he did as a rookie. He was named a Hockey East Second-Team All Star for his efforts.

The top man for the nation's top team, Quinnipiac head coach Rand Pecknold earns the Clark Hodder Award as the region's Division I Coach of the Year. Pecknold has led the Bobcats to the No. 1 spot in the polls and the program's first-ever Frozen Four berth with a 29-7-5 record this year. After winning the ECAC regular season crown, QU entered the NCAA Tournament as the top overall seed, winning tournament games against Canisius and Union to advance to Pittsburgh. Pecknold, in his 18th season behind the bench for the Bobcats, has overseen a nine-win improvement over last year's squad, and led the team to a 21-game unbeaten streak this year between Nov. 9 and Feb. 9. He was also named the Tim Taylor Coach of the year by ECAC Hockey.

Senior defenseman Danny Biega of Harvard is the 2012-13 Joe Tomasello Award recipient as this year's 'Unsung Hero'. Biega tallied two golas and nine assists and tied for 24th amongst all ECAC defensemen in his final season in Cambridge.

After concluding a 40-year career as the head coach of Boston University, Jack Parker will be honored with the Parker/York Award for Contributions to New England Hockey. Parker concluded his run on Commonwealth Avenue in 2012-13 by leading the Terriers to the Hockey East finals, posting a 21-16-2 record. Over the course of his decorated career, Parker finished with 897 career wins, posting 20-win seasons on 27 occasions and bringing home three national titles.

Joining the award winners are the 2012-13 New England Men's Division I All-Stars. Joining Gillies as one of two All-Star goaltenders is Quinnipiac's Eric Hartzell, a top-10 Hobey Baker finalist. Along with Ruhwedel, UNH's Trevor van Riemsdyk, Boston College's Mike Matheson and Merrimack's Jordan Heywood receive All-Start defenseman honors. Gaudreau headlines the All-Star forward cast, along with teammate Steven Whitney, Merrimack's Mike Collins, Kenny Agostino from Yale, Bentley's Brett Gensler and Joe Pendenza of UMass Lowell.



NEW ENGLAND HOCKEY WRITERS ASSOCIATION

Jack Grinold • NEHW Secretary
Joe Bertagna • Hockey East Commissioner
Pete Souris • Asst. Hockey East Commissioner
Mark Majewski • Northeastern University

Northeastern University 360 Huntington Avenue Boston, Massachusetts 02115 (617) 373-2691, (617) 373-3152 (fax)

-- 2012-13 NEW ENGLAND MEN'S DIVISION I ALL-STARS AND AWARDS --

GOALTENDERS

Eric Hartzell, Sr., G, White Bear Lake, Minn. (Quinnipiac) Jon Gillies, Fr., G, South Portland, Maine (Providence)

DEFENSEMEN

Trevor van Riemsdyk, So., D, Middletown, N.J. (New Hampshire) Chad Ruhwedel, Jr., D, San Diego, Calif. (UMass Lowell) Mike Matheson, Fr., D, Pointe-Claire, Quebec (Boston College) Jordan Heywood, Jr., D, Regina, Saskatchewan (Merrimack)

FORWARDS

Johnny Gaudreau, So., F, Carney's Point, N.J. (Boston College)
Steven Whitney, Sr., F, Reading, Mass. (Boston College)
Mike Collins, Jr., F, Boston, Mass. (Merrimack)
Kenny Agostino, Jr., F, Flanders, N.J. (Yale)
Brett Gensler, Jr., F, St. Charles, Mo. (Bentley)
Joe Pendenza, Jr., F, Wilmington, Mass. (UMass Lowell)

CLARK HODDER AWARD - DIVISION I COACH OF THE YEAR_

Rand Pecknold (Quinnipiac)

LEONARD FOWLE AWARD - MOST VALUABLE PLAYER

Johnny Gaudreau, So., F, Carney's Point, N.J. (Boston College)

GEORGE C. CARENS AWARD - ROOKIE OF THE YEAR

Jon Gillies. Fr., G, South Portland, Maine (Providence)

HERB GALLAGHER AWARD - BEST FORWARD

Johnny Gaudreau, So., F, Carney's Point, N.J. (Boston College)

BOB MONAHAN AWARD - BEST DEFENSEMAN

Chad Ruhwedel, Jr., D, San Diego, Calif. (UMass Lowell)

PAUL HINES AWARD - MOST IMPROVED PLAYER

Evan Rodrigues, So., F, Etobicoke, Ontario (Boston University)

FRANK JONES AWARD - MOST DEFENSIVE FORWARD

Tim Schaller, Sr., F, Merrimack, N.H. (Providence College)

JOE TOMASELLO AWARD - UNSUNG HERO

Danny Biega, Sr., D, Montreal, Quebec (Harvard)

PARKER / YORK AWARD - CONTRIBUTION TO NEW ENGLAND HOCKEY_

Jack Parker (Boston University)