

## **AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION**

Executive Director: Joe Bertagna — 7 Concord Street — Gloucester, MA 01930 — (781) 245-4177

For immediate release: Wednesday, April 10, 2013

## Norm Bazin of UMass Lowell Named flexxCOACH/AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year Will Receive Spencer Penrose Award at AHCA Convention on May 4 in Naples, FL



For his efforts in leading UMass Lowell to its first NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey "Frozen Four" appearance in school history, Norm Bazin has been chosen winner of the 2013 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Ice Hockey flexxCOACH/AHCA Coach of the Year. He will receive his award on Saturday evening, May 4, during the American Hockey Coaches Association annual convention in Naples, FL.

Entering Thursday afternoon's semifinal contest vs. Yale, Bazin's River Hawks have compiled an overall record of 28-10-2, capturing both the Hockey East regular season and tournament titles along the way. Lowell advanced to the Frozen Four by defeating Wisconsin (6-1) and New Hampshire (2-0) to win the NCAA Northeast Regional in Manchester, NH.

The River Hawks enter the Frozen Four in Pittsburgh's CONSOL Energy Center having won 14 of their last 15 games and seven in a row. On December 1, the UMass Lowell record stood at 4-7-1. Since that time, they have gone 24-3-1.

Bazin has been chosen as the Hockey East Coach of the Year in both of his seasons at Lowell. This follows two years as the NESCAC Coach of the Year while he coached at Hamilton College. Overall, in five years as a head coach, his career record is 90-54-10.

A 1994 graduate of Lowell, Bazin was a 20-goal scorer as a senior, recording career numbers of 32-36-68 in 136 games. A native of Notre Dame de Lourdes, Manitoba, Bazin was a Dean's List student in each of his eight semesters at Lowell, earning a degree in criminal justice in just three and a half years. Following a brief playing career in the ECHL and IHL, Bazin started coaching as Tim Whitehead's assistant at Lowell from 1996-2000. He followed that experience with eight years at Colorado College, recruiting 13 All-Americans and two Hobey Baker Award winners. His first head coaching job came at Hamilton in 2008-09, where he was 38-31-7 in three seasons.

His inaugural year at UMass Lowell produced the largest turnaround in NCAA Division I history as he took a program that had won five games in 2010-11 and delivered a 24-13-1 season and an NCAA Tournament berth.

Assisting Bazin this season were Jason Lammers, Cam Ellsworth and Dan Darrow. All four will be recognized in Naples, Florida, in May.

The runners-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award were Rand Pecknold of Quinnipiac University and Bob Motzko of St. Cloud State University.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. All AHCA Coach of the Year awards are selected by the head coaches in each division and are sponsored by flexxCOACH, the leader in delivering online coaching education for sports and the development of software products designed to assist coaches in creating drills, planning practices and designing fitness programs for athlete development.

PICK-UP: List of Past Winners

CONTACT: Joe Bertagna (781-245-4177)



## Winners of the Spencer Penrose Award Division One Coach of the Year

1951	Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth	1983	Bill Cleary, Harvard
1952	Cheddy Thompson, Colorado College	1984	Mike Sertich, Minnesota-Duluth
1953	John Mariucci, Minnesota	1985	Len Ceglarski, Boston College
1954	Vic Heyliger, Michigan	1986	Ralph Backstrom, Denver
1955	Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard	1987	John "Gino" Gasparini, North Dakota
1956	William Harrison, Clarkson	1988	Frank Anzalone, Lake Superior
1957	Jack Riley, Army	1989	Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1958	Harry Cleverly, Boston University	1990	Terry Slater, Colgate
1959	John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College	1991	Rick Comley, Northern Michigan
1960	Jack Riley, Army	1992	Ron Mason, Michigan State
1961	Murray Armstrong, Denver	1993	George Gwozdecky, Miami
1962	Jack Kelley, Colby	1994	Don Lucia, Colorado College
1963	Tony Frasca, Colorado College	1995	Shawn Walsh, Maine
1964	Tom Eccleston, Providence	1996	Bruce Crowder, MA-Lowell
1965	Jim Fullerton, Brown	1997	Dean Blais, North Dakota
1966	Amo Bessone, Michigan State	1998	Tim Taylor, Yale
1967	Edward Jeremiah, Dartmouth	1999	Richard Umile, New Hampshire
1968	Ned Harkness, Cornell	2000	Joe Marsh, St. Lawrence
1969	Charlie Holt, New Hampshire	2001	Dean Blais, North Dakota
1970	John MacInnes, Michigan Tech	2002	Tim Whitehead, Maine
1971	Ralph "Cooney" Weiland, Harvard	2003	Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1972	John "Snooks" Kelley, Boston College	2004	Scott Sandelin, Minnesota Duluth
1973	Len Ceglarski, Boston College	2005	George Gwozdecky, Denver
1974	Charlie Holt, New Hampshire	2006	Enrico Blasi, Miami
1975	Jack Parker, Boston University	2007	Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
1976	John MacInnes, Michigan Tech	2008	Red Berenson, Michigan
1977	Jerry York, Clarkson	2009	Jack Parker, Boston University
1978	Jack Parker, Boston University	2010	Wayne Wilson, RIT
1979	Charlie Holt, New Hampshire	2011	Nate Leaman, Union
1980	Rick Comley, Northern Michigan	2012	Bob Daniels, Ferris State
1981	Bill O'Flaherty, Clarkson	2013	Norm Bazin, UMass Lowell
1982	Ferny Flaman, Northeastern	_010	- · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	j j - (		



AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION