

PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS
Assistant Commissioner
for Public Relations
Hockey East Association
591 North Ave – #2

Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Saturday, January 19, 2013

LEAGUE-RECORD 49 HOCKEY EAST ALUMNI NAMED TO NHL OPENING DAY ROSTERS

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - A league-record 49 Hockey East alumni are featured on 2012-2013 National Hockey League opening rosters, which were announced on Saturday afternoon by the league office.

Boston College and Boston University led the way with representation on NHL rosters with 17 and 12, respectively, followed by Maine with five former players on NHL clubs. Boston College's Chris Kreider is the lone player from the 2011-12 Hockey East season to make an NHL opening roster this year. Kreider helped lead the Eagles to the 2012 NCAA Championship in Tampa, Fla., their third NCAA title in the last five seasons.

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and an eight-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won eight NCAA championships in the past 20 years. Since 1999, Hockey East has won six NCAA Championships and have placed 19 teams in the Frozen Four, along with 49 teams in the NCAA Tournament.

Here is the full listing sorted by Hockey East team

Boston College Eagles (17) – Andrew Alberts (VAN), Cam Atkinson (CBJ), Brian Boyle (NYR), Scott Clemmensen (FLA), Patrick Eaves (DET), Nathan Gerbe (BUF), Brian Gionta (MTL), Stephen Gionta (NJ), Peter Harrold (NJ), Chris Kreider (NYR), Chuck Kobasew (COL), Ben Lovejoy (PIT), Brooks Orpik (PIT), Nick Petrecki (SJS), Marty Reasoner (NYI), Cory Schneider (VAN), Rob Scuderi (LA)

Boston University Terriers (12) – Adrian Aucoin (CBJ), Nick Bonino (ANA), Chris Bourque (BOS), Rick DiPietro (NYI), Matt Gilroy (NYR), Tom Poti (WAS), Kevin Shattenkirk (STL), Brian Strait (NYI), David Warsofsky (BOS), Ryan Whitney (EDM), Colin Wilson (NASH), Brandon Yip (NASH)

Maine Black Bears (5) - Ben Bishop (OTT), Jimmy Howard (DET), Mike Lundin (OTT), Dustin Penner (LAK), Teddy Purcell (TBL)

Massachusetts Minutemen (4) – Justin Braun (SJS), Matt Irwin (SJS), Mike Kostka (TOR), Jonathan Ouick (LAK)

UMass-Lowell River Hawks (1) – Ron Hainsey (WPG)

New Hampshire Wildcats (3) - Bobby Butler (NJD), James van Riemsdyk (TOR), Daniel Winnik (ANA)

Northeastern Huskies (1) – Joe Vitale (PIT)

Providence College Friars (4) – Mark Fayne (NJD), Hal Gill (NASH), Colin McDonald (NYI), Matt Taormina (TBL)

Vermont Catamounts (2) - Torrey Mitchell (MIN), Patrick Sharp (CHI)*, Viktor Stålberg (CHI), Martin St. Louis (TBL)*

* did not compete in Hockey East

- HEA -