

March 27, 2012

Jack Grinold • NEHW Secretary

Joe Bertagna • Hockey East Commissioner

Mark Majewski • Northeastern University

Northeastern University 360 Huntington Avenue Boston, Massachusetts 02115 (617) 373-2691, (617) 373-3152 (fax)

**Contact**: Mark Majewski • Jack Grinold (617) 373-3643 • (617) 373-2691

## 2011-12 NEW ENGLAND DIVISION I MEN'S HOCKEY ALL-STARS & AWARDS

The New England Hockey Writers Division I All-Star teams and awards have been finalized after tallying votes from all Division I coaches and respective media outlets throughout New England. This year's banquet will be held on Tuesday, April 10 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The banquet will start at 6 p.m. All awards and All- Star teams will be presented at the gala. All coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends are encouraged to attend Tuesday's banquet. Contact Pete Souris at (781) 245-2122 for information on attending this event. Cost is \$40 per person.

University of Maine senior Spencer Abbott swept the **Leonard Fowle Award for Most Valuable Player** and the **Herb Gallagher Award for Best Forward**. Abbott, who leads the entire country in points per game leading up to the 2012

Frozen Four (1.59 ppg – 21-41-62), helped Maine to a Hockey East title game berth and a spot in the NCAA Tournament.

Boston College's Brian Dumoulin repeats as the **Bob Monahan Award** winner for Best Defenseman after leading the Eagles to their 10th Frozen Four in the last 15 years. Dumoulin is a two-time Hockey East First-Team All-Star after his stellar junior year campaign.

Boston University senior forward Chris Connolly is honored with the *Frank Jones Award for Best Defensive Forward* after leading the Terriers to the 2012 NCAA Tournament. Connolly tied for 34th in the NCAA in scoring (1.05 ppg) and was elected as a Hockey East Second-Team All-Star.

UMass Lowell's Scott Wilson was voted the top freshman in New England, winning the *George C. Carens Award* as the region's Rookie of the Year. Wilson helped UMass Lowell win its first NCAA Tournament game since 1996 and finished second amongst all first-year players in scoring with 1.03 points per game (16-22-38).

Wilson's teammate, sophomore goaltender Doug Carr, won the *Paul Hines Award as New England's Most Improved Player*. Carr finished in the top 10 in both goaltending categories this season, accumulating a 2.13 goals against average and a save percentage of .929. Carr started 33 games this season compared to 20 in his rookie campaign and markedly improved both his GAA (3.63) and save percentage (.896).

First-year head coach Norm Bazin of UMass Lowell ran away with the *Clark Hodder Award as the Division I Coach of the Year*. Bazin posted a 19-win turnaround for the River Hawks in his first season as bench boss and led UML to its fourthever NCAA appearance as a Division I program. Bazin was also adorned with 2012 Hockey East Coach of the year laurels.

Senior forward Bobby Farnham of Brown is the 2011-12 *Joe Tomasello Award* recipient for this year's 'Unsung Hero Award'. Farnham tallied eight goals and 13 assists for the Bears in his final season in Providence, R.I.

John 'Jocko' Connolly, long-time scribe for *The Boston Herald*, will be honored with the *Parker/York Award for Contribution to New England Hockey*. Connolly is the second member of *The Boston Herald* to earn the award as George Carens won the same merit in 1961 when the publication was called *The Boston Traveler*. Connolly is the fifth member of the media to take home the award.

For more complete listings of All-Stars and awards, including extensive archives, check www.newenglandallstars.com.

(Complete New England All-Star teams and awards on next page)

## 2011-12 New England Men's Division I All-Stars

**GOALIES** Joe Cannata, Sr. (Merrimack)

Doug Carr, So. (Umass Lowell)

**DEFENSE** Danny Biega, Jr. (Harvard)

Adam Cledendeing, So. (Boston University)

Brian Dumoulin, Jr. (Boston College)

Will O'Neill, Sr. (Maine)

**FORWARDS** Spencer Abbott, Sr. (Maine)

Joey Diamond, Jr. (Maine) Brian Flynn, Sr. (Maine) Chris Kreider, Jr. (BC) Alex Killorn, Sr. (Harvard) Brian O'Neill, Sr. (Yale)

## 2011-12 New England Hockey Awards

CLARK HODDER AWARD – DIVISION I COACH OF THE YEAR

Norm Bazin (UMass Lowell)

LEONARD FOWLE AWARD - MOST VALUABLE PLAYER

Spencer Abbott, Sr., F (Maine)

GEORGE C. CARENS AWARD - ROOKIE OF THE YEAR

Scott Wilson, Fr., F (UMass Lowell)

HERB GALLAGHER AWARD - BEST FORWARD

Spencer Abbott, Sr., F (Maine)

**BOB MONAHAN AWARD – BEST DEFENSEMAN** 

Brian Dumoulin. Jr., D (Boston College)

PAUL HINES AWARD - MOST IMPROVED PLAYER

Doug Carr, So., G (UMass Lowell)

FRANK JONES AWARD – BEST DEFENSIVE FORWARD

Chris Connolly, Sr., F (Boston University)

**JOE TOMASELLO AWARD - UNSUNG HERO AWARD** 

Bobby Farnham , Sr., F (Brown)

PARKER/YORK AWARD - CONTRIBUTION TO NEW ENGLAND HOCKEY

John 'Jocko' Connolly (The Boston Herald)