

PETER SOURIS Assistant Commissioner for Public Relations Hockev East Association 591 North Ave - #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, March 14, 2012

## **HOCKEY EAST ANNOUNCES 2012 ALL-ROOKIE TEAM SELECTIONS** ~League also announces Seven Individual Award Winners~

Wakefield, Mass. - The Hockey East Association announced the nine-member 2012 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team on Wednesday afternoon. The first-year players will be honored alongside several individual award winners at Thursday's annual championship awards night at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

Northeastern University forward Ludwig Karlsson (Stockholm, Sweden), Boston College forward Johnny Gaudreau (Carneys Point, N.J.) and UMass-Lowell forward Scott Wilson (Oakville, Ont.) were the three unanimous selections to the squad, as chosen by the 10 league head coaches. UMass-Lowell and New Hampshire were the only two schools with multiple selections, which included goaltender Casey DeSmith (Rochester, N.H.) and defenseman Trevor van Riemsdyk (Middletown, N.J.) from the Wildcats and the River Hawks defenseman Zack Kamrass (Atlanta, Ga.), along with Wilson. Boston University's Alexx Privitera (Old Tappan, N.J.) also represented the blueliners on the team. Providence College's Ross Mauermann (Janesville, Wis.) and Vermont's Kyle Reynolds (Sylvan Lake, Alta.) completed the nine-member All-Rookie class of 2012 up front.

Among the other individuals who will be honored at Thursday's banquet will be Boston University senior captain Chris Connolly (Duluth, Minn.) as the Gladiator Hockey Best Defensive Forward and the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award winner. Connolly played in 26 games for the Terriers, recording 32 points (6g,26a) in league play to go along with a +13 plus/minus rating and only six penalty minutes. Connolly finished the season first in assists and tied for fourth in points scored among conference skaters.

Senior forward Matt Ferreira (Brampton, Ont.) of UMass-Lowell will be honored as the third men's recipient of Turfer Athletic Award, which is presented annually to an individual, coach or team who best represents the core values of Turfer Athletics; tenacity, commitment and innovation.

Boston College will also be well represented, as junior Brian Dumoulin (Biddeford, Maine) will be the recipient of the Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman award for the second consecutive season. Dumoulin played in all 27 league games for the Eagles registering 21 points (4g,17a) with a +13 plus/minus rating in his third season at the Heights. Fellow teammate Parker Milner (Pittsburgh, Pa.) earned the Bauer Goaltending Champion. Milner led league play with a 1.85 GAA and a .928 save percentage to go along with a 16-3-0 record. The award is given to the player with the best combined goaltending statistics in conference games.

The Hockey East Scoring Champion went to Maine senior forward Spencer Abbott (Hamilton, Ont.) with 38 points (15g, 23a) in 27 games and the Army ROTC Three Stars Award will be awarded to Kieran Millan (Edmonton, Alta.) of Boston University. Millan finished the season as the No. 1 star of the game three times and was named a Star of the Game on 12 occasions. New Hampshire will also receive the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award for the third year in a row. The Wildcats were the lowest penalized team in the league averaging 10.6 minutes per game.

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and an eightteam Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won seven NCAA championships in the past 19 years. Since 1999, Hockey East has won five NCAA Championships and have placed 18 teams in the Frozen Four, along with 45 teams in the NCAA Tournament.

## 2012 PRO AMBITIONS ALL-ROOKIE TEAM

- G: Casey DeSmith, New Hampshire (Rochester, N.H.)
- D: Zack Kamrass, UMass-Lowell (Atlanta, Ga.)
- D: Alexx Privitera, Boston University (Old Tappan, N.J.)
- D: Trevor van Riemsdyk, New Hampshire (Middletown, N.J.)
- F: Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College (Carneys Point, N.J.)
- F: Ross Mauermann, Providence College (Janesville, Wis.)
- F: Ludwig Karlsson, Northeastern (Stockholm, Sweden)
- F: Kyle Reynolds, Vermont (Sylvan Lake, Alta.) F: Scott Wilson, UMass-Lowell (Oakville, Ont.) \*
- \* unanimous selections

## **2012 HOCKEY EAST AWARD WINNERS**

Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman: Brian Dumoulin, Boston College (Jr., Biddeford, Maine) Gladiator Best Defensive Forward: Chris Connolly, Boston University (Sr., Duluth, Minn.) Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award: Chris Connolly, Boston University (Sr., F, Duluth, Minn.) Scoring Champion: Spencer Abbott, Maine (38 pts.; Sr., F, Hamilton, Ont.) Bauer Goaltending Champion: Parker Milner, Boston College (1.85 GAA, .928 save%; Jr., Pittsburgh, Pa.) Army ROTC Three Stars Award: Kieran Millan, Boston University (Sr., G, Edmonton. Alta.) Turfer Athletic Award: Matt Ferreira, UMass-Lowell (Sr., F, Brampton, Ont.) Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award: New Hampshire Wildcats



