

PRESS RELEASE

PETER SOURIS
Assistant Commissioner
for Public Relations
Hockey East Association
591 North Ave – #2

Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166

psouris@HockevEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Saturday, October 8, 2011

43 HOCKEY EAST ALUMNI NAMED TO NHL OPENING DAY ROSTERS

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - 43 Hockey East alumni were featured on 2011-2012 National Hockey League opening rosters, which were announced on Thursday afternoon by the league office.

Boston College (17) and Boston University (8) were well represented on NHL rosters, followed by Maine and Vermont with five.

Two alumni that competed in Hockey East during the 10-11 season have earned a spot on opening day rosters, including: Boston College's Cam Atkinson and Merrimack's Stephane Da Costa.

The Tampa Bay Lightning carry the most Hockey East alums with five on their roster, while the New York Islanders have four former league players on their club's roster.

Here is the full listing, sorted by their Hockey East school affiliation:

Boston College (17) - Andrew Alberts (VAN), Cam Atkinson (CBJ), Brian Boyle (NYR), Scott Clemmensen (FLA), Patrick Eaves (DET), Nathan Gerbe (BUF), Brian Gionta (MTL), Chuck Kobasew (COA), Ben Lovejoy (PIT), Mike Mottau (NYI), Ryan Murphy (CAR), Brooks Orpik (PIT), Marty Reasoner (NYI), Cory Schneider (VAN), Rob Scuderi (LAK), Ryan Shannon (TBL), Ben Smith (CHI).

Boston University (8) - Rick DiPietro (NYI), Matt Gilroy (TBL), Jay Pandolfo (NYI), Tom Poti (WASH), Kevin Shattenkirk (STL), Ryan Whitney (EDM), Colin Wilson (NASH), Brandon Yip (COA).

Maine (5) - Brett Clark (TBL), Jimmy Howard (DET), Mike Lundin (MIN), Dustin Penner (LAK), Teddy Purcell (TBL).

Massachusetts (1) - Jon Quick (LAK).

UMass-Lowell (2) - Ron Hainsey (WPG), Dwayne Roloson (TBL).

Merrimack (1) - Stephane Da Costa (OTT).

New Hampshire (4) - Bobby Butler (OTT), Ty Conklin (DET), James van Riemsdyk (PHI), Daniel Winnik (COA).

Northeastern (1) - Joe Vitale (PIT).

Providence (2) - Mark Fayne (NJD), Hal Gill (MTL).

Vermont (5) - Torrey Mitchell (SJS), Patrick Sharp * (CHI), Viktor Stålberg (CHI), Martin St. Louis * (TBL), Tim Thomas * (BOS).

* did not compete in Hockey East

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and an eight-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won seven NCAA championships in the past 19 years. Since 1999, Hockey East has won five NCAA Championships and have placed 18 teams in the Frozen Four, along with 45 teams in the NCAA Tournament.