

AMERICAN HOCKEY COACHES ASSOCIATION

Executive Director: Joe Bertagna — 7 Concord Street — Gloucester, MA 01930 — (781) 245-4177

For immediate release: Friday, April 8, 2011

MEN'S OLD TIME HOCKEY DIVISION I ALL-AMERICANS ANNOUNCED

Fourteen different Division I hockey-playing schools can celebrate players honored as Old Time Hockey All Americans for the 2010-11 season. The nation's top 24 college hockey players were announced tonight at the NCAA Men's Division I Frozen Four in St. Paul, MN. Leading the way were Boston College and North Dakota, each with two First Team selections and a Second Team honoree. Noteworthy this year:

- Only one player was a repeat First Team choice: Rensselaer senior forward Chase Polacek. New Hampshire junior defenseman Blake Kessel and Minnesota-Duluth junior forward Jack Connolly moved up top First Team after making Second Team in 2010. Maine junior forward Gustav Nyquist dropped down to Second Team after First Team honors last year.
- There are 14 players from the United States seven from Canada, two from Sweden and one from France.
- Half of the honorees are seniors. Of the other 12, six are juniors and six are sophomores.
- The U.S. honorees are from nine states and four Canadian provinces. The largest sources are Alberta (4), Michigan (3) and Minnesota (3).
- Nineteen players participated in the NCAA Tournament. Six of them advanced to the "Frozen Four."
- The honorees include all ten finalists for the 2010 Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

The AHCA/Old Time Hockey All-American Ice Hockey Teams are sponsored by Old Time Hockey, an international leader in hockey-themed apparel, and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.

First Team				
East		West		
Keith Kinkaid, SO, Union College	Goalie	Pat Nagle, SR, Ferris State University		
(Farmingville, NY)		(Bloomfield, MI)		
Brian Dumoulin, SO, Boston College	Defense	Chay Genoway, SR, University of North Dakota		
(Biddeford, ME)		(Morden, MB)		
Blake Kessel, JR, University of New Hampshire#	Defense	Justin Schultz, SO, University of Wisconsin		
(Verona, WI)		(West Kelowna, BC)		
Cam Atkinson, JR, Boston College	Forward	Jack Connolly, JR, University of Minnesota-Duluth#		
(Greenwich, CT)		(Duluth, MN)		
Chase Polacek, SR, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute*	Forward	Matt Frattin, SR, University of North Dakota		
(Edina, MN)		(Edmonton, AB)		
Paul Thompson, SR, University of New Hampshire	Forward	Andy Miele, SR, Miami University		
(Derry, NH)		(Grosse Pointe Woods, MI)		

Second Team			
East		West	
John Muse, SR, Boston College	Goalie	Aaron Dell, SO, University of North Dakota	
(East Falmouth, MA)		(Airdrie, AB)	
Nick Bailen, SO, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute	Defense	Jake Gardiner, JR, University of Wisconsin	
(Fredonia, NY)		(Minnetonka, MN)	
Taylor Fedun, SR, Princeton University	Defense	Zach Redmond, SR, Ferris State University	
(Edmonton, AB)		(Farmington Hills, MI)	
Stephane Da Costa, SO, Merrimack College	Forward	Carter Camper, SR, Miami University	
(Paris, France)		(Rocky River, OH)	
Gustav Nyquist, JR, University of Maine*	Forward	Mike Connolly, JR, University of Minnesota-Duluth	
(Malmo, Sweden)		(Calgary, AB)	
Paul Zanette, SR, Niagara University	Forward	Carl Hagelin, SR, University of Michigan	
(Nobleton, ON)		(Stockholm, Sweden)	

^{*} First Team in in 2009-10; # Second Team in 2009-10

CONTACT: Joe Bertagna (781-245-4177)

