

New England Hockey Writers Association

March 30, 2011

Jack Grinold • NEHW Secretary
Joe Bertagna • Hockey East Commissioner
Mark Majewski • Northeastern University

Northeastern University 360 Huntington Avenue Boston, Massachusetts 02115 (617) 373-2691, (617) 373-3152 (fax)

Contact: Mark Majewski • Jack Grinold (617) 373-3643 • (617) 373-2691

## 2010-11 New England Division I Men's Hockey All-Stars & Awards

The New England Hockey Writers Division I All-Star teams and awards have been finalized after tallying votes from all Division I coaches and respective media outlets throughout New England. This year's banquet will be held on Wednesday, April 13 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The banquet will start at 6 p.m. All awards and All-Star teams will be presented at the gala. All coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends are encouraged to attend Wednesday's banquet. Contact Pete Souris at (781) 245-2122 for information on attending this event. Cost is \$35 per person.

University of New Hampshire senior Paul Thompson swept the New England MVP and Best Forward Awards. It is the second straight season that a Wildcat swept both awards, as Bobby Butler turned the trick last year. Thompson is a Hobey Baker Top 10 Finalist and helped lead New Hampshire to the NCAA Tournament for the fourth straight season.

Boston College blue liner Brian Dumoulin was the top vote-getter for New England's Best Defenseman after a stellar sophomore campaign in which he gained 30 assists and registered a plus-23 rating. He was also recognized as the Hockey East Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman.

Maine's Tanner House was chosen as New England's Best Defensive Forward. The senior also reaped the Hockey East Gladiator Hockey Best Defensive Forward award. He recently signed a two-year contract with the Edmonton Oilers.

Boston University forward Charlie Coyle was named New England's Rookie of the Year. The 2010 first round draft choice of the San Jose Sharks was third among Hockey East rookies in scoring with seven goals and 19 assists for 26 points.

Yale senior goaltender Ryan Rondeau earned Most Improved Player laurels after posting the second best goals against average (1.91) and save percentage (.928) in the nation. Rondeau led Yale to the top overall seed in the NCAA Tournament and a first round victory against Air Force.

After leading Merrimack to its first trip to the Hockey East finals and first NCAA Tournament appearance since 1988, Warriors' bench boss Mark Dennehy was named the New England Division I Coach of the Year for the second straight season. Dennehy directed Merrimack to a Division 1 team-record 25 victories as the Warriors were ranked in the national polls for the first time in program history, reaching as high as fourth in the country.

Third-year defenseman Mike Daly of Holy Cross is the 2010-11 Joe Tomasello Award recipient for this season's 'Unsung Hero Award'. Daly tallied three goals and 15 assists in his third season patrolling the blue line for the Crusaders

Jim Logue, an assistant coach with Boston College for 18 years, will be honored with the Parker/York award for Contribution to New England hockey. Logue starred in net for BC from 1959-61 and has also coached at Merrimack and Salem State.

For more complete listings of All-Stars and awards, including extensive archives, check www.newenglandallstars.com.

(Complete New England All-Star teams and awards on next page)

## 2010-11 New England Men's Division I All-Stars

Goalies John Muse, Sr. (Boston College)

Ryan Rondeau, Sr. (Yale)

Defense Brian Dumoulin, So. (Boston College)

Blake Kessel, Jr. (New Hampshire)

Danny Biega, So. (Harvard) Karl Stollery, Jr. (Merrimack)

Forwards Cam Atkinson, Jr. (Boston College)

Gustav Nyquist, Jr. (Maine)

Paul Thompson, Sr. (New Hampshire) Stephane Da Costa, So. (Merrimack)

Andrew Miller, So. (Yale) Brian O'Neill, So. (Yale)

## 2010-11 New England Hockey Awards

Clark Hodder Award - Division I Coach of the Year

Mark Dennehy (Merrimack)

Leonard Fowle Award - Most Valuable Player

Paul Thompson, Sr., F (New Hampshire)

George C. Carens Award - Rookie of the Year

Charlie Coyle, Fr., F (Boston University)

Herb Gallagher Award – Best Forward Paul Thompson, Sr., F (New Hampshire)

Bob Monahan Award – Best Defenseman Brian Dumoulin. So., D (Boston College)

Paul Hines Award - Most Improved Player

Ryan Rondeau, Sr., G (Yale)

Frank Jones Award - Best Defensive Forward

Tanner House, Sr., F (Maine)

Joe Tomasello Award - Unsung Hero Award

Mike Daly, Jr., D (Holy Cross)

Parker/York Award - Contribution to New England Hockey

Jim Logue (Boston College)