

PETER SOURIS Assistant Commissioner for Public Relations Hockey East Association 591 North Ave – #2 Wakefield, MA 01880 Office: (781) 245-2122 Cell: (603) 512-1166 psouris@HockeyEastOnline.com

For Immediate Release: Monday, February 7, 2011

HOCKEY EAST HONORS THREE WITH PRESTIGIOUS FOUNDERS MEDAL

Wakefield, Mass. - Hockey East Commissioner Joe Bertagna announced on Friday that three former league administrators have been chosen to receive the league's prestigious Founder's Medal Award.

Bob DeGregorio, Stu Haskell and Brendan Sheehy will be honored during the season for their contributions to the league over their professional careers. DeGregorio and Sheehy will be presented their medals in the pre-game ceremony at Merrimack on Feb. 12 vs. UNH at Lawler Arena. Haskell will be honored on Feb. 11 before Maine's game vs. the University of Vermont.

DeGregorio served as Athletic Director at Merrimack College for 19 years and was the fourth Hockey East Commissioner in the league's history serving for three seasons (1993-1996). The former treasurer and Executive Council member of Hockey East, DeGregorio also oversaw the elevation of Merrimack's men's hockey program from Division II to Division I status in 1989, where it now competes as a member of Hockey East. He is currently in his seventh season as Commissioner of the Atlantic Hockey Association.

Haskell was the third Commissioner of Hockey East serving for five years (1988-1993). He also was the Athletic Director at the University of Maine for five seasons as well (1982-1987).

Sheehy served as the league's Supervisor of Officials for 12 years (1995-2007) and played a key role in developing new officials and creating the observers program.

The five founding fathers of Hockey East, which included: Irwin Cohen (NU), Bill Flynn (BC), Lou Lamoriello (PC), Andy Mooradian (UNH) and John Simpson (BU) comprised the inaugural group to receive the award back in March of 2009, as the league celebrated it's 25th anniversary season.

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team, Division-I college hockey conference, with offices based in Wakefield, Mass. Founded in 1983, the league has won seven NCAA championships in the past 18 years. The league also sponsors an eight-team women's league which began play in 2002-03.

- HEA -