

## PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smith | bsmith@hockeyeastonline.com | 339.227.2988 | @BriSmiHE 591 North Avenue #2 | Wakefield, MA | 01880 | 781.245.2122

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: JUNE 17, 2020

Hockey East's Inaugural Plays of the Year Tournament Starts Next Week Brackets of 16 Plays From the Men's and Women's League Will Be Voted On By Fans

**WAKEFIELD, Mass.** - Hockey East announced today the inaugural Plays of the Year Tournament, featuring two brackets of 16 plays each from the men's and women's league from the 2019-20 season and voted on by fans, will begin on Monday, June 22. Full brackets and descriptions of the plays can be found below.

Fans will have the opportunity to vote for two of their favorite plays from the 2019-20 season on Hockey East's Twitter and Instagram. The winning plays will advance to the next round, until only one play from the men's league and one play from the women's league remain. Those two champion plays will face each other in the grand finale to determine the best play of the year!

A new round of voting will begin each day at 2 p.m. ET.

This year's Plays of the Year Tournament was made possible in part by Hockey East's partnerships with NESN and CBS Interactive, announced earlier this year. The comprehensive partnership is the first of its kind for Hockey East.

**ABOUT HOCKEY EAST:** The Hockey East Association is an 11-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and a 10-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won nine NCAA championships in the past 26 years including Providence College in 2015 at TD Garden in Boston. Since 1999, Hockey East has won seven NCAA Championships with 16 NCAA Championship Game appearances, while placing 27 teams in the Frozen Four and 71 teams in the NCAA Tournament during that time. Overall, Hockey East has sent 115 teams to the NCAA Tournament since its inaugural season, more than any other conference in that span. Hockey East is home to 11 Hobey Baker winners and three Patty Kazmaier winners.













