

PRESS RELEASE

contact: Brian Smith | bsmith@hockeyeastonline.com | 339.227.2988 | @BriSmiHE The Hockey East Association | 591 North Avenue #2 | Wakefield, MA | 01880

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: JUNE 16, 2021

Hockey East Announces New Postseason Tournament Formats Men's and Women's Leagues Will Feature All Teams in A Single Elimination Format

WAKEFIELD, Mass. - The Hockey East Association announced today a new postseason tournament format for the men's and women's leagues. Beginning in 2022, all 11 men's programs and all 10 women's programs will compete in a single-elimination postseason tournament for the Lamoriello Trophy and the Bertagna trophy, respectively.

"This new format for the Hockey East Tournament gives all of our student-athletes the chance to compete for a championship, which is undoubtedly the most exciting part of the season," said Hockey East Commissioner **Steve Metcalf**. "Hockey East is the most competitive conference in college hockey, top to bottom, and this new format will highlight the importance of every game during the season for players and fans alike."

The Hockey East Men's Tournament will return to an all-in format after a two-year departure. Seeds six, seven, and eight will host seeds 11, 10, and nine, respectively, in the Opening Round set for Wednesday, March 9, 2022. After a reseeding, the top three seeds will host the winners of the Opening Round while the four seed will host the five seed in the Quarterfinals on Saturday, March 12. For the first time since 2019, the Hockey East Men's Championship Semifinals and Final will return to the TD Garden in Boston on March 18-19, 2022. Ticket information and game times will be announced at a later date.

For the first time ever, the Hockey East Women's Tournament will feature all 10 member programs. Seeds seven and eight will host seeds 10 and nine, respectively, in the Opening Round on Wednesday, February 23 while the top six seeds receive a bye into the Quarterfinals. After a reseeding, the top two seeds will host the winners of the Opening Round while the three seed will host the six seed and the four seed will host the five seed. Semifinals will take place on Friday, March 4 and the Championship is set for Saturday, March 5 in prime time for just the second time ever. Details regarding the championship site and tickets will be announced at a later date.

The winners of both tournaments will receive the conference's automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament.

Information regarding the league's composite schedule, including television and streaming information, will be announced later this summer.

ABOUT HOCKEY EAST: The Hockey East Association is an 11-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and a 10-team Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won 10 NCAA championships in the past 27 years, most recently in 2021. Since 1999, Hockey East has won eight men's NCAA Championships with 17 NCAA Championship Game appearances, while placing 28 teams in the Frozen Four and 74 teams in the NCAA Tournament. Overall, Hockey East has sent 118 teams to the men's NCAA Tournament since its inaugural season, more than any other conference in that span. Hockey East is home to 11 Hobey Baker winners and four Patty Kazmaier winners.

HOCKEY EAST















